About University of Delhi

By | June 30, 2014

What is University?

University is an institution for providing high level education where academic research is done. Students attain different degrees like BTech., MTech. B.A, M.A., PhD etc. after the completion of their respective courses. Students go to university after completing their class 12th.

University of Delhi

The University of Delhi is a public central university of India. It was founded in 1922 by an Act of the Central Legislative Assembly in Delhi. It is funded by the Indian government. The Vice President is the Chancellor of the university. It ranks first among Indian universities as per India Today.


Faculties & Departments

Currently there are 16 faculties, 86 departments, 77 colleges and 5 other important institutes located in Delhi, with 132435 regular students and 261169 students in non-formal education programme.

1. Faculty of Arts: It includes 14 departments including Persian, Urdu, Sanskrit, Buddhist Studies, Philosophy, Punjabi, Hindi, English, Linguistics, Library and Information Science, etc.
2. Faculty of Law: It has LL.B and LL.M.
3. Faculty of Science: It has 10 departments namely environmental studies, geology, home science, nursing, pharmacy, zoology, physics, astrophysics, anthropology, botany & chemistry,.
4. Faculty of Social Sciences: It has 9 departments that are Adult Continuing Education & Extension, African Studies, East Asian Studies, Social Work, Political Science, Geography, Sociology, Economics and History Faculty of Education
5. Faculty of Applied Social Sciences and Humanities
6. Faculty of Commerce and Business Studies
7. Faculty of Interdisciplinary and Applied Sciences
8. Faculty of Management Studies
9. Faculty of Mathematical Sciences
10. Faculty of Medical Sciences
11. Faculty of Music and Fine Arts
12. Faculty of Open Learning
13. Faculty of Technology
14. Faculty of Ayurvedic & Unani Medicine
15. Faculty of Faculty of Homeopathic Medicine

List of colleges affiliated with Delhi University

1. Acharya Narendra Dev College
2. Aditi Mahavidyalaya
3. Ahilyabai College of Nursing
4. Amar Jyoti Institute of Physiotherapy
5. Atma Ram Sanatan Dharma College
6. Ayussrvedic & Unani Tibbia College
7. Bhagini Nivedita College
8. Bharati College
9. Bhaskraycharya College of Applied Sciences
10. Bhim Rao Ambedkar College
11. College of Arts
12. College of Pharmacy
13. College of Vocational Studies
14. Cluster Innovation Centre[1][dead link]
15. Daulat Ram College
16. Deen Dayal Upadhayaya College
17. Delhi College of Arts and Commerce
18. Delhi School of Economics
19. Department of Business Economics, University of Delhi-South Campus
20. Department of East Asian Studies, University of Delhi
21. Deshbandhu College
22. Ramanujam College(formerly Deshbandhu evening)
23. Dyal Singh College, Delhi
24. Dyal Singh College (Evening)
25. Faculty of Law (Campus Law Centre, Law Centre-I, Law centre-II)
26. Faculty of Management Studies
27. Gargi College
28. Hans Raj College
29. Hindu College
30. Indira Gandhi Institute of Physical Education and Sports Sciences
31. Indraprastha College for Women
32. Institute of Informatics and Communication
33. Institute of Home Economics
34. Janki Devi Memorial College
35. Jesus & Mary College
36. Kalindi College
37. Kamala Nehru College
38. Keshav Mahavidyalaya
39. Kirori Mal College
40. Lady Hardinge Medical College
41. Lady Irwin College
42. Lady Shri Ram College for Women
43. Lakshmi Bai College
44. Maharaja Agrasen College
45. Maharishi Valmiki College of Education
46. Maitreyi College
47. Mata Sundri College for Women
48. Maulana Azad Medical College
49. Miranda House
50. Motilal Nehru College
51. Moti Lal Nehru College (Evening)
52. Nehru Homeopathic College
53. Netaji Subhas Institute of Technology (Faculty of Technology)
54. Pannalal Girdharlal Dayanand Anglo Vaidic College
55. Pannalal Girdharlal Dayanand Anglo Vaidic College (Evening)
56. Pandit Deendayal Upadhyaya Institute for the Physically Handicapped
57. Rajdhani College
58. Rajkumari Amrit Kaur College of Nursing
59. Ram Lal Anand College
60. Ram Lal Anand College (Evening)
61. Ramjas College
62. Satyawati College
63. Satyawati College (Evening)
64. School of Open Learning
65. Shahid Bhagat Singh College
66. Shahid Bhagat Singh College (Evening)
67. Shaheed Rajguru College of Applied Sciences for Women
68. Shaheed Sukhdev College of Business Studies
69. Sherubtse College
70. Shivaji College
71. Shri Ram College of Commerce
72. Shyam Lal College
73. Shyam Lal College (Evening)
74. Shyama Prasad Mukherjee College
75. Sri Aurobindo College
76. Sri Aurboindo College (Evening)
77. Sri Guru Gobind Singh College of Commerce
78. Sri Guru Nanak Dev Khalsa College
79. Sri Guru Tegh Bahadur Khalsa College
80. Sri Venkateswara College
81. St. Stephen’s College, Delhi
82. Swami Shraddhanand College
83. University College of Medical Sciences
84. Vivekananda College, Delhi
85. Zakir Husain Delhi College

Leave a Reply