Five Central University in India

By | November 30, 2013

A Central University or a Union University in India is established by Act of Parliament and are under the purview of the Department of Higher Education in the Union Human Resource Development Ministry. Universities in India are recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC). The list of central universities published by the UGC includes 42 central universities.

Banaras Hindu University: it is a most popular central university located in Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh. It was established by Pandit Madan Mohan Malviya in 1916.  BHU is one of the largest residential universities in India, with over 20,000 students.  It is organized into 4 institutes and 14 faculties (streams) and more than 140 departments.Total student enrolment at the university exceeds 20,000, and includes students from over 34 nations.

BHU image

Allahabad University

Allahabad University: The University of Allahabad, it is known as Allahabad University. It is a central university situated in Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh, India. It was established at 23 September 1887. Academic departments in Allahabad university are Faculty of Arts,Faculty of Science,Independent centre Institute of Professional Studies, Arts Faculty Courses,Institute of Inter-disciplinary Studies,Purely Project Funded Centre.

Aligarh Muslim University:  It was established in 1875-78 by Sir Syed Ahmed Khan. The Mohammedan Anglo-Oriental College became Aligarh Muslim University in 1920. AMU academic staff is 2,000 and student above 30,000.  AMU is located in Aligarh, Uttar Pradesh, India.

India Today survey in 2012, the AMU was ranked 5th and Times Higher Education World University survey in 2013 the AMU ranked 9th in the top 10 higher education institutions in India by Rankings.

Aligarh Muslim University

Jawaharlal Nehru University:   it is also known as JNU, is a public central university located in India’s capital city, Delhi. In 2012, The National Assessment and Accreditation Council gave the university a grade of 3.9 out of 4, the highest grade awarded to any educational institution in the country.


Visva Bharati University: it is India’s most popular major Central Govt. funded autonomous university situated in Santiniketan, West Bengal. It was founded by Rabindranath Tagore who called it Visva Bharati, which means the communion of the world with India.

Visva Bharati University

University is organized into ten schools; those are School of Arts and Aesthetics, School of Biotechnology, School of Computer and Systems Sciences, School of Environmental Sciences, School of International Studies, School of Language, Literature and Culture Studies, School of Life Sciences, School of Physical Sciences, School of Social Sciences and Special centers.

Leave a Reply