Information About Banaras Hindu University

By | December 1, 2013

Banaras Hindu University is one of the best institutions of higher learning in India. Banaras Hindu University was established in 1916 by Pandit Madan Mohan Malviya in Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh. The university’s main campus is spread over 1,300 acres (5.3 km2). It was built on land donated by the Kashi Naresh, the hereditary ruler of Banaras. Engineering institute of the University was designated an IIT in June 2012. BHU has 4 institutes, 14 faculties (streams) and over 140 departments with more than 20000 students from over 34 nations.

Banaras Hindu University

Institutes affiliated to BHU are Indian Institute of Technology (BHU) Varanasi (IIT-BHU), Institute of Agricultural Sciences (IAS-BHU), Institute of Medical Sciences (IMS-BHU) & Institute of Environment & Sustainable Development  (IESD-BHU). Affiliated colleges of Banaras Hindu University situated in different Parts of Varanasi are D.A.V. Post Graduate College, Arya Mahila P.G. College, Vasant Kanya Mahavidyalaya  & Vasanta College for Women. Inter-disciplinary schools of BHU are School of Biotechnology, DBT-BHU Interdisciplinary School of Life Sciences, DST Centre for Interdisciplinary Mathematical Sciences and Centre of Food Science & Technology.

Leave a Reply