Rajiv Gandhi University - Arunachal Pradesh

Formerly known as Arunachal University, Rajiv Gandhi University is a premier institution of higher education in the state. The foundation stone of the university was laid by then prime minister of India late Mrs. Indira Gandhi in the year in 1984 at Rono Hills where the present day campus of the university is located. It is just 6.5 Km away from the National Highway 52-A and 25 Km from the state capital Itanagar. The university is well linked with all modes of transportation for the convenience of its students. Ever since its inception it is provides excellent services to its students not only academically but helps in their overall growth as well.

The Rajiv Gandhi University offers under graduate, post graduate, M.Phill and P.hd programs. The Department of Education also offers B.Ed programs to the students as well. There are as many as 15 colleges which are affiliated to the university provide education facilities to all the neighboring states as well particularly the Assam. The academic year of 2000-2001 was a great year for the university in terms of its achievements as the university is switched over from annual to semester system, various syllabi designated by Boards of Post-Graduate studies (BPGS) have been implemented and the VSAT facility installed by the ERNET India program provides internet facility to the students.

Students who want to collect more information about the university and the programs run by it can visit its official site It offers all the necessary information about admission, academic session, seminars, workshops, conferences, placements etc. The aspirants can also visit which is a complete database of all the boards in different states. It facilitates the students with important notifications, admission procedures, results, online filling of application forms etc and direct them to other important links as well.

Address: Papum Pare, Arunachal Pradesh 791112

Phone: 0360 227 7253



Established 4 February 1984

Rajiv Gandhi University

Vice chancellors

Prof. Tamo Mibang


  • Anthropology
  • Botany
  • Chemistry
  • Commerce
  • Computer Science & Engineering
  • Economics
  • Education
  • English
  • Geography
  • Hindi
  • History
  • Management
  • Mass Communication
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Political Science
  • Sociology
  • Zoology

Affiliated Colleges

  • Arunachal Community College, Itanagar
  • Arunachal Law Academy, Naharlagun
  • Daying Ering College of Teacher's Education, Pasighat
  • Dera Natung Govt. College, Itanagar
  • Don Bosco College, Itanagar
  • Donyi Polo Govt. College, Kamki
  • Doying Gumin College, Pasighat
  • Government College, Bomdila
  • Government College, Seppa
  • Government College, Yachuli
  • Hills College of Teacher Education, Naharlagun
  • Indira Gandhi Govt. College, Tezu
  • Jawaharlal Nehru College, Pasighat
  • North East Homeopathic Medical College, Itanagar
  • Rang Frah Govt. College, Changlang
  • St. Claret College, Salaya
  • St. Francis De Sales College, Aalo
  • Wangcha Rajkumar Govt. College, Deomali


  • Department of Education
  • Department of English
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of Anthropology
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of History
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Zoology
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Management