About Vidyasagar University

Vidyasagar University is named after the great son of Bengal and one of the doyens of Indian Renaissance- Pandit Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar. This University was established by the mathematician and statistician from the University of Cambridge, Prof. Anil Kumar Gain in 1981 at Medinipur District of Southern part of West Bengal. This University is recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC) and the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) has awarded “B” grade upon this seat of higher learning.

The total area of the campus of Vidyasagar University is around 182 acres which consists of the main campus and the residential campus. Around 105 colleges belonging to the parts of Medinipur and other parts of West Bengal are affiliated by Vidyasagar University. Moreover, there are around 1500 students studying in various postgraduate courses where quality education is guaranteed by the concerned academic departments of Arts, Science and Commerce. Experienced and dynamic faculty members of Vidyasagar University teaches various subjects of Bengali, Business Administration, Commerce with Farm Management, Economics with Rural Development, English, Hindi, History, Library & Information Science, Anthropology, Computer Science, Botany & Forestry, Applied Mathematics with Oceanology & Computer Programming, Aquaculture Management & Technology, Remote Sensing & GIS and many more dynamic subjects on the long academic list of Vidyasagar University. Moreover for advanced studies MOU is also signed between Vidyasagar University and Yunnan Minzu University (China) and University of Lodz (Poland).

Admission to various courses of Vidyasagar University is totally given on merit while the research level programmes one has to qualify for the NET, GATE, SET and RET. Students are advised to check the official website- for admission details, course, fees structures and other important updates and notifications. Moreover, is also helpful for the students to access more details about other Indian Universities also.

Vidyasagar University
    College Details of Vidyasagar University
  Nickname Vidyasagar University
  Affiliations UGC
  Contact No 03222 276 554
  Founded 29 September 1981
  Address Vidyasagar University Road, Rangamati
  City Medinipur
  State West Bengal
  Country India
List of courses offered by Vidyasagar University
  Degree    Duration
M.C.A.3 Years
List of colleges affiliated with Vidyasagar University
   City    College Name
1Sarsuna Law College - SLC
2Vidyasagar School of Social Works - VSSW
1Chandrakona Vidyasagar Mahavidyalaya
2Debra Thana Sahid Kshudiram Smriti Mahavidyalaya
3Deshapran College of Teachers' Education
4Garhbeta College
5Haldia Government College
6Haldia Institute of Education
7Haldia Law College - HLC
8K.D. College of Commerce
9Kabi Sukanta Secondary Teachers' Treaning Institute
10Khejuri College
11Mahishadal Girl's College
12Mahishadal Raj College
13Midnapore College - Autonomous
14Moyna College
15Oriental Institute of Science and Technology - OIST
16Purba Medinipur B.Ed College
17Sitananda College
18Subarnarekha Mahavidyalaya
19Subhas Chandra Basu B.Ed. Training College
20Vidyasagar Institute of Health
21Vivekananda Mission Mahavidyalaya
22Vivekjyoti College
23Yogoda Satsanga Palpara Mahavidyalaya
1Bajkul Milani Mahavidyalaya
2Belda College
3Bhatter College
4Egra Sarada Sashi Bhusan College
5Grahbeta College
6Hijli College
7International Institute of Maritime Studies and Research
8Jhargram Raj College
9Kharagpur College
10Kharagpur Tribal Teacher's Training College
11Midnapore Institute of Education
12Midnapore Law College
13Mugberia Gangadhar Mahavidyalaya
14Narajole Raj College
15Panskura Banamali College
16Pingla Thana Mahavidyalaya
17Prabhat Kumar College
18Raja Narendra Lal Khan Women's College
19Ram Nagar College
20Ratulia Secondary Teacher's Training Institute
21Sabang Sajani Kanta Mahavidyalaya
22Seva Bharati Mahavidyalaya
23Sevayatan Sikshan Mahavidyalaya
24Silda Chandara Sekhar College
25Sukumar Sengupta Mahavidyalaya
26Vidyasagar Teacher's Training College