Teacher Eligibility Test – TET

The Teacher Eligibility Test (TET) is an entrance exam that qualifies candidates to become teachers in government-run schools across India. The aspirants who want to develop careers as teachers in public schools from Classes I to VIII can apply for the TET.

Note that both central and state governments conduct the TET. Also, most of the Indian states hold their respective TETs that are held on a state-level and qualify the candidates to apply for teacher posts (for Classes 1st to 8th) in the various government-based schools of the respective state.

The Central Teacher Eligibility Test (CTET) qualifies the candidates for teacher recruitment for Classes from I to VIII in schools that come under the jurisdiction of the Central Government. To become CTET-qualified, the candidate has to secure a minimum of 60% in the CTET. Moreover, the successful candidates receive the ‘Eligibility Certificate’ that is valid for 7 years.

The TET consists of two papers that include Paper-I and Paper-II. Paper-I applies to aspirants who want to teach classes from I to V; and Paper-II, for teaching classes from VI to VIII. The test complies with the Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education Act.

The Government of India introduced the TET during the year 2011 with the aim to improve the country’s standards of teaching. For teachers who were already employed, they were given two years to pass the exam.

The examination is conducted as per the National Curriculum Framework and is mandatory for aspiring teachers for Classes I to VIII.

To be eligible to take the exam, the candidate has to secure professional teacher training qualifications. These include Bachelor of Education (BEd), Bachelor of Elementary Education (B.El.Ed), Basic Training Certificate (BTC), and Diploma in Elementary Education. Also, to pass the eligibility test, the candidate has to score at least 60% marks.

The Central Board Secondary Council has the teachers’ database; also, they provide guidance to the government agencies on how to conduct the test.

List of Teacher Eligibility Test in India
Andhra Pradesh TET
Arunachal Pradesh TET
Assam TET
Bihar TET
Chhattisgarh TET
Chandigarh TET
Delhi TET
Gujarat TET
Haryana TET
Himachal Pradesh TET
Jharkhand TET
Karnataka TET
Kerala TET
Lakshadweep TET
Manipur TET
Madhya Pradesh TET
Maharashtra TET
Meghalaya TET
Mizoram TET
Nagaland TET
Odisha TET
Punjab TET
Puducherry TET
Rajasthan TET
Sikkim TET
Uttar Pradesh TET
Uttarakhand TET
Tamil Nadu TET
Telangana TET
Tripura TET
West Bengal TET

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *