NIT Rourkela Engineering College

By | January 12, 2014
NIT Rourkela is an institute of higher learning for engineering and technology. It is situated in Rourkela, Odisha, India. It is one of the 30 National Institutes of Technology in India. It has been recognized as an Institute of National Importance by the National Institutes of Technology Act, 2007. It was established on 15 August 1961 and its foundation stone was laid by the then Prime Minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru. It was granted autonomy and functional independence by the Ministry of Human Resource Development in 2002. The institute is at a distance of about 7 km from the Rourkela railway station.The campus of the institute is over 1024 acres of land which makes it the largest engineering campus in the country after IIT Kharagpur. The institute area is at the centre of the campus surrounded by the residential areas. The main building of the Institute is surrounded by the departmental buildings. It consists of classrooms, the Central library, the Administrative and Academic sections and departments like Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics and

Humanities. Surrounding includes all the departments, the lecture gallery, the workshops, the institute canteen and the audio-visual hall. All faculty, staff and students are provided residential accommodation. There are nine hostels for residence for within the campus.

The campus has a stadium for several national level university tournaments and is named after Dilip Tirkey, the former Indian Hockey captain. There are courts for playing lawn tennis, basketball and volleyball. It has a cricket ground well equipped with floodlights and a players’ dressing room. The campus has all facilities for developing academic & extra curricular skills of the students. The institute has produced some prominent hockey, cricket, basketball, table tennis, football and athletics talents who have taken part in various state and national level games. Indoor gaming facility like table tennis, cricket, badminton, carom are available in the respective hostels. Each hostel also has two badminton courts. The institute has two common gymnasiums.

NIT Rourkela

The institute has following departments offering B. Tech, B. Tech-M. Tech Dual, M. Tech, M.Sc,Integrated M.Sc, MBA and PhD degree:

1. Department of Bio-Technology and Medical Engineering
2. Department of Ceramic Engineering
3. Department of Chemical Engineering
4. Department of Chemistry
5. Department of Civil Engineering
6. Department of Computer Science and Engineering
7. Department of Industrial Design
8. Department of Electrical Engineering
9. Department of Electronics and communication Engineering
10. Department of Electronics and instrumentation Engineering
11. Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
12. Department of Life Science
13. Department of Mathematics
14. Department of Mechanical Engineering
15. Department of Metallurgical & Materials Engineering
16. Department of Mining Engineering
17. Department of Physics
18. Department of School of Management

Leave a Reply